Tip #6 Consider your options

When it comes to us, “ROCD people”, we like to dwell on the symptoms of our condition and replay different options and scenarios in our minds. We do this in hopes to find a solution or answer that we never seen before. And this goes on and on and on…… This is not a very good way of moving forward and improving our ROCD. In reality there are only two options:

Option 1 – Continue doing what have been doing so far –> ruminate and reinforce the cycle

This is what we do best. Getting lost in our thoughts, creating more anxiety in a non-ending stream of possibilities and deep analysis. This only makes ROCD worst. We develop other compulsions (specially checking types for feelings). This is not very productive and will only end up making us emotionally numb, anxious and depressed. But we still keep on doing it, day after day…I guess that is why it is called an obsession.

Option 2 –  Try another approach –> commit yourself to change and break the cycle 

For us to get better, we need to try a different approach. The very first step is to commit oneself to a change in behaviors, thoughts and actions. We can get all the necessary tools to get better but if we are not committed daily to change then we will never achieve our desired goal. Being committed is one of the hardest parts of the process of change. You have to be very strong minded to be able to achieve this. Strong minded because it will take time to see the results and not everything that you will try will work. Somethings will not work, others will work very quickly and others very slowly. Accepting this is part of this commitment to change.

Exercise

Can you identify thoughts, actions and behaviors that reinforce your ROCD addiction cycle?

Can you  identify positive ways of breaking the cycle?

8 comments

    1. Thanks for the comment Bethany! I have loads of more stuff being prepared! Feel free to comment and specially share your experience after doing the exercises.

  1. Please please please continue. This is helping me so much, and it offers great words of comfort and insight. I am an insightful person, but right now I am lost in anxiety, depression, and ROCD, and it’s so hard to see through all that when you’re swamped in it.

  2. Thanks for the kind words Paige. The plan is to post a tip a day. And then use those tips to help everyone help themselves build a recovery program based on those tips (or others that they might know)…

  3. Your blog is fantastic. I have had rocd for over 18 years. 16 of those I have been very happily married for and know I love my husband. There has been many blips or spikes as you refer to them but I do get through. A combination of medication and the odd cbt session. You see I understand what it is I have to do but when in a spike as am at the moment I initially find it hard to get going with what I need to do. I ruminate a lot and check my feelings a lot which is a waste of time as in checking phase they are not really there but maybe at brief moments and ill doubt those anyway. How did you stop checking your feelings and start to not pay attention to the rumination? My spike this time is definitely brought on by a new job and doubts about that which I then link back to my poor hubby. Even as I write this I let myself doubt myself! Looking forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

